## Adoption of PR for congressional elections in Latin America

COUNTRY	YEAR OF ADOPTION	PREVIOUS ELECTORAL FORMULA
Argentina	1957	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Incomplete List
Bolivia	1956	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Limited Vote
Brazil	1945	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Limited Vote
Chile	1925	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Bloc Vote
Colombia	1931	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Limited Vote
Costa Rica	1913	Indirect elections
Dom. Rep.	1924	Indirect elections
Ecuador	1946	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Limited Vote
El Salvador	1963	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Bloc Vote
Guatemala	1946	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Bloc Vote
Honduras	1957	Majority Runoff, Second Round Plurality
México	1986	Plurality, with limited rep. for minorities
Nicaragua	1984	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Incomplete List
Panamá	1924	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Limited Vote
Paraguay	1990	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Incomplete List
Peru	1963	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Incomplete List
Uruguay	1917	Multi-Member District Plurality,
		Incomplete List
Venezuela	1946	Indirect elections

Source: Author, based on Colomer (2004), Golder (2003), Nohlen (1993, 2005), Wills-Otero and Perez Liñan (2006), and various country sources.